Month: October 2012

  • Had I been….

    Had I been Joseph’s mother
    I’d have prayed
    protection from his brothers
    “God, keep him safe.
    He is so young,
    so different from
    the other.”
    Mercifully,
    she never knew
    there would be slavery
    and prison too.
     
    Had I been Moses’ mother
    I’d have wept
    to keep my little son:
    praying she might forget the babe drawn from the water
    of the Nile.
    Had I not kept
    him for her
    nursing him the while,
    was he not mine?
    – and she but Pharaoh’s daughter?
     
    Had I been Daniel’s mother
    I should have pled
    “Give victory!
    - this Babylonian horde
    godless and cruel -
    Don’t let him be a captive
    - better dead,
    Almighty Lord!”
     
    Had I been Mary,
    Oh, had I been she,
    I would have cried
    as never mother cried,
    “Anything, O God,
    Anything….
    - but
    crucified.”
     
    With such prayers importunate
    my finite wisdom would assail
    Infinite Wisdom.
    God, how fortunate
    Infinite Wisdom
    should prevail.
     
    - Ruth Bell Graham