Month: April 2008

  • Disappointment – His Appointment

    “Disappointment – His Appointment”‘


     change one letter, then I see


     that the thwarting of my purpose


    is God’s better choice for me.


    His appointment must be blessing


     though it may come in disguise;


    for the end, from the beginning,


    open to His vision lies.


     ”Disappointment – His Appointment.”


    Whose? The Lord who loves me best,


     understands and knows me fully,


    who my faith and love would test.


    For like loving earthly parents


     He rejoices when He knows


    that His child accepts unquestioned


    all that from His wisdom flows.


    “Disappointment - His appointment”;


    no good thing will He withhold.


    From denials oft we gather


     treasures of His love untold.


    Well He knows each broken purpose


    leads to a fuller, deeper trust,


     and the end of all His dealings


     proves our God is wise and just.


    “Disappointment – His Appointment”;


    Lord I take it then as such,


    like clay in the hands of the potter


     yielding wholly to His touch.


    My life’s plan is all His molding;


     not one single choice be mine.


    Let me answer unrepining,


    “Father, not my will but thine.”


     I found this beloved poem in a book I am reading on trials by Kay Arthur called, 


     As Silver Refined: Learning to Embrace Life’s Disappointments


     by Kay Arthur.


     


     REJOICE always; PRAY without ceasing; in everything GIVE THANKS; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thess. 5:16-18.


     








  • Beware


    (Woe to you) 


    when all men


    speak well of you. 


      Luke 6:26

  • Window Washing Day

    I’ll be having Mother’s Day in my home next month so I’m working on a few extra housekeeping projects now so I won’t feel pressured at the last minute. The older I get the less I enjoy feeling overwhelmed! I think old age not only effects your body but your NERVES! So, I do what I can TODAY to lessen the pressure TOMORROW. Planning ahead is my best line of defense.


    So, this morning I plan on washing my front windows. They are ‘bugging’ me because they are full of water spots. We have an automatic sprinkler system (which is wonderful) but the spray from the water hits my front living room windows. We’re on a well and the water is very hard so it ends up spotting everything it touches. 


     After I clean my windows with Lime Away  to remove the water spots  I’ll then  spray the window with Rain-X (found at Walmart or an auto supply store) and rub it into the glass. An older sister at church shared this secret to keeping your windows spot free . The next time the water hits the windows it should run right off. This will hopefully keep my windows looking nice for most of the summer. I’ll probably have to do them once more before winter sets in but in the long run it saves me a lot of time.


    Another time saver for taking off water spots is using Lime Away on my showers. They also get terribly spotted from the water and the Lime Away will take those spots completely off the doors and the rest of the shower. I just have to be careful not to get it on the faucets or any of the chrome.


     








    Some New Recipes


     I love to try new recipes. I become easily bored when it comes to cooking the same old thing month after month.This week I tried a couple of Laine’s recipes. My husband really enjoyed them. I think I will cut back just a tad on the spices for the soup but overall it was very good! 


    Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla Soup


    1 1/2 lbs. cooked, shredded chicken
    1 15 oz. can Ro-tel chopped tomatoes
    1 10 oz. can enchilada sauce (I use my own)
    1 onion chopped & sauteed
    1 garlic chopped & sauteed
    1 4 oz. can of chilies
    2 c. water
    1 can chicken broth ( I use all chicken broth instead of canned and water)
    1 t. each of cumin, chili powder (Gehbardts), salt
    1/4 t. pepper
    1 bay leaf


    Cook on high 3-4 hours.

    1 c. frozen corn
    1 T. chopped cilantro

    Add at end until heated through. I also add any leftover beans or rice and more chicken broth if needed. Adjust seasonings.

    Topping for each serving:

    6 corn tortillas
    2 T. oil

    Cut tortillas into strips and toss with oil, lay on a cookie sheet, cook at 400 for about 10-15 minutes until nicely brown.
    Use to top each serving of soup. If you have avocado, serve this over as well.


     Meat for tacos, enchilada and burritos


    I took a small, boneless pork roast (that I found on sale for under $2.00 a pound) and seasoned it with garlic powder, salt and pepper. I cooked it on high in a crockpot for about 4-5 hours. When I took it out it fell apart. I shredded it for a future meal. I went to write down how I had cooked it on the actual recipe when I saw that Laine adds 2 cups of salsa during the cooking process. I had a half a jar of salsa so I added it to the meat after it was done. It was great!


    I love to cook ahead. I’ve found that it saves time and especially money on those nights when I’m too tired to cook.


    She looks well to the ways of her household, And does not eat the bread of idleness. Proverbs 31:27

  • Saving money in the home!

    FrugalFridays-754123-754063 


    (This is from Laine’s Letters)


    Dear Sisters,

    Hi! Here is a recent question that came in.

    ~ “Do you ever feel that your job as a homemaker is worth little or
    less?
    What was your job prior to being a homemaker, and do you ever miss
    it?”~

    What a good question! Now here is a good practice, write down
    everything
    you save per month by being a homemaker. Then times that by 12 months
    and
    this is your “yearly savings salary”. I did this a long time ago, but
    decided to try it again as it is always my prayer that I could double
    my
    husband’s income by my savings in our home as a homemaker every year.

    We prayed and worked very hard to be completely debt free since 2003,
    so
    our savings have increased by not paying interest on anything since
    that
    time. This practice around, I more than doubled my husband’s $45,000 a
    year gross salary. I was surprised myself. Here are my saving figures
    based on what many of my friends and family members are paying
    regularly
    each month for all these items in So. California:

    1) No mortgage (paid off), no car payments, no credit card or any other
    debt payments in interest charges : $400 mo. savings

    2) No higher tax bracket because I do not work outside the home: $150
    mo.
    savings

    3) Food, Household, & Pet because I have time to shop carefully, use
    coupons, and homecook : $600 mo. savings

    4) Clothing – lots of hand-me-downs, no need to buy quality suit
    clothes
    for work anymore: $50 mo. savings

    5) Private Schooling -I provide this at home for my two students: $1100
    mo. savings

    6) Gas – I only go out once a weekday with the car, no drives to work
    and
    back, and I live 40 min round trip from town: $400 mo. savings

    7) DMV & Car insurance – I drive a ’92 Honda, older car purposely for
    bigger savings: $50 mo. savings

    8) Internet – none, so we use the library if we need it: $10 mo.
    savings

    9) Books – rarely buy them, rather use interlibrary loan system for
    free:
    $20 mo. savings

    10) Gifts – I have time to shop wisely and put gifts away when I see a
    good deal: $40 mo. savings

    11) Healthcare – I am consistently learning about herbs and nutrition
    to
    keep my family healthy so the doc visits are rare for them: $50 mo.
    savings

    12) Cleaning and decorating my home- done privately by me- including
    carpet cleaning: $90 mo. savings

    13) Landscape Maintenance – privately done by my husband and I, and the
    kids, above-ground pool maintenance too: $75 mo. savings

    14) Haircuts -done by me: $25 mo.

    15) Car maintenance – done by my husband, but kept at a lower minimum
    since I purposely use the car once a weekday: $50 mo. savings

    16) Car wash – done privately by us: $20 mo. savings

    17) Staying in our older home purposely with contentment for the past
    21
    years, no upgrades, so less yearly taxes: $250 mo. savings

    18) Childcare – done by me (savings once we get our baby, and years ago
    when my children were young): $600 mo. savings per child

    19) Drycleaning – none- done by me: $25 mo. savings

    20) No exercise membership fees – exercise at home for free: $40 mo.
    savings

    21) No shopping channels or cable for t.v.: $60 mo. savings

    22) Starbucks run – none- make ours at home and take it with us: $20
    mo.
    savings

    23) Renters – rent out part of our house – I am here all the time to
    manage our home: $290 mo. savings

    24) Skincare – I use natural and some homemade products which saves a
    lot: $20 mo.

    25) Frugal Vacation planning – time to do it and research for overall
    savings: $75 mo. savings

    26) Laundry – no dryer, hang out clothes outside and use 1/2 the amt of
    detergent each load: $30 mo. savings

    27) Heating – I am home to man the fireplace and the kerosene stove, so
    we save a lot: $30 mo. savings

    28) Cooling – I am home to keep the house cool with fans and window
    treatments, minimum air: $20 mo. savings

    29) Lunches out – kids eat at home, and more time to prepare lunches if
    we need them out: $40 mo. savings

    30) Newspaper & magazines – free at the library: $25 mo. savings

    31) Dining out – not frequently – rather time to cook at home: $50 mo.
    savings

    32) Rent old movies or buy music – rather rent from the library for
    free:
    $20 mo. savings

    33) Family Portraits and School/Senior Pics -done privately by me as I
    learned in college-$10 mo. savings

    My total savings a year: $56,820

    So, if I have estimated correctly, based on what my friends and family
    members are regularly paying for the above items, my “savings salary”
    combined with my husband’s gross income is $101,820 a year. Pretty
    good!
    For I learned long ago, it’s not what comes in, but how it goes out
    that
    counts. And it’s not about how much you can spend, but rather how much
    you can save.

    “When goods increase, they increase who eat them. So what profit have
    the
    owners except to see them with their eyes?” Eccl. 5:11

    “He who loves silver will not be satisfied with silver; nor he who
    loves
    abundance with increase.” Eccl. 5:10

    My job as a homemaker affords me that wonderful word called “time”.
    Time
    is of the essence, as the saying goes. I have time to research, reuse,
    and recreate. It’s my job to save. And I really enjoy it. The challenge
    is to do the saving without anyone in the family really realizing it!
    What do I mean? Well, they are so well taken care of that they don’t
    notice the savings per se – they’re just really quite blessed by it
    all.

    It’s frugality, but fun.

    What was my old job before becoming a homemaker 25 years ago? I worked
    for American Express making a little more money than my husband at the
    time. Now I am quite content with my savings in my home, and all the
    creativity that goes along with it. I don’t miss working there at all.
    I
    am so thankful to be a homemaker, and to make my home a place of cozy
    contentment for my family. I am so thankful that my Marine sons love to
    come home more than anything. God is so good!

    “Through wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is
    established;
    by knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant
    riches.”
    Proverbs 24:3-4

    “Honor the LORD with your possessions, and with the firstfruits of all
    your increase; so your barns will be filled with plenty. and your vats
    will overflow with new wine.” Proverbs 3:9-10

    Love,
    Laine

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    Laine’s official website:  http://www.lainesletters.com
    To subscribe:  Laines_Letters-subscribe@welovegod.org
    To unsubscribe:  Laines_Letters-unsubscribe@welovegod.org
    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~


  • Isn’t she PRECIOUS??


    ‘Merciful Grace’ is so right! This video is a wonderful example of a child’s ability to memorize scripture, prayers and worship songs. Young children are like a sponge when it comes to scripture memorization. It just takes time on the parents part and dedication to train them up in the ways of the Lord.


    There are many creative and easy ways to train a child in scripture. Before they start to read the family can place the scripture on the dining room table and practice together. The younger child who cannot read will pick it up easily. When my children were younger we purchased scripture put to song at the bible bookstore to keep in the car. I still remember one verse we learned to song during those years and it came back to me not to long ago. We also had a Memorization Book that we wrote the scriptures we were memorizing. That way we had a convenient way to review previous scriptures. I still have that book!  


    It can become a lifestyle of practicing the verse during the week before a child goes to bed at night (it’s wonderful to have God’s Word on your heart as you are falling asleep), in the car, posted on mirror’s in the bathroom for the older children to read as they brush their teeth, and to be practiced before a meal.


    May the Lord bless you as you seek to train your children in His Word!
    Georgene

  • Only in the Cross

    Our Pastor preached a good sermon, as always! But, it wasn’t until we sang the following song right before communion,  that my soul was deeply effected as our dear Pastor began to ask us some of the following questions…


    What do we boast in? Do we boast in our children? Our hobbies? Our good works we do for others?


    Our accomplishments?


    What are we KNOWN for boasting in?


    Are we known for boasting only in the CROSS!


    I pondered the question for what seemed like an eternity but I knew in my heart what the answer was. I am not known for boasting ONLY in the CROSS!


    It was a ‘God Moment’ for me. It was an answer to a prayer that I prayed several weeks ago. I asked the Lord to reveal if a certain heart attitude was sinful. I knew the ‘act’ was not sinful but was beginning to feel that my motive was more ME centered than CHRIST centered. “I” was seeking the glory for my accomplishment  instead of seeking to bring glory to God!


    As my pastor was speaking I realized God was answering my prayer… yes, my attitude was sinful because I was glorying in an accomplishment and not only in the cross. I was seeking to exalt myself instead of Christ.


    I can’t think of much on this earth that compares to knowing God has spoken to me PERSONALLY through His Word!  Thank you, Lord!


     How glorious and marvelous YOU ARE!!!


    Here is the chorus to ONLY IN THE CROSS… (Pastor encourages us to raise our voices together and sing it as if we really mean it!!!)



    So I will glory only in the cross


    Yes, I will glory only in the cross


    And I will make my boast


    in the Lord Jesus Christ


    Crucified to ransom us


     


    But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ …
















    Galatians 6:14 (ESV)


     

  • FRUGAL FRIDAYS: Garbage Can Liners

    FrugalFridays-754123-754063


    Can you imagine that there would be a downside to cutting my grocery bill in more than half?  (read yesterday’s post).  Well, there is! The downside is that I don’t have enough garbage bags to line my kitchen trash bag. I suddenly remembered that my mother used to line her kitchen garbage can with newspapers. I don’t think they even made plastic garbage bags 35 years ago.. maybe they did.. I’m really not sure. But, I remember very clearly that Mother used to line her trash can with newspaper.


    I put quite a few layers doubled in the bottom of the trash can. Then I took one whole section (for instance the MONEY section)  and turned it sideways and placed it on the left side of the can and then took another section of newspaper and lined the opposite side. TaDa!


    I was expecting a mess in the bottom of the can when I dumped it but there was ‘nada’.


    I have a small pile of newspapers I saved for the fireplace but with winter long past I’m gong to use them up in the kitchen trash can.


    See biblicalwomanhood.com for a long list of other frugal ideas listed every Friday.

  • I’m still here… :-)

    Hello Fellow Xangers!


    I’ve missed posting in Xanga Land! I hope you are all doing well. I’ve continued reading your blogs even though I haven’t been able to respond.  


    I’ve shared our situation a few times over the past few years so most of you know that our trucking business began losing momentum due to the rising cost of fuel.  We finally had no choice but to sell off 6 of our trucks and let our employees go. My son eventually had to find work elsewhere. There just wasn’t enough work to keep him busy. Lots of changes for our family.


    Because of our business situation we had to put our house and land on the market. We felt we could no longer afford the high payment. Our home has been on the market for 1 1/2 years. We’ve had several offers which have all fallen through. God has miraculously provided and we stand in awe of His mercy!


    My husband and I have worked hard to cut expenses every place we can. I think we’ve made some great progress in that area. Here are just a few things we’ve cut over the past few years:


    * 3 vehicles down to just 1.


    * $600-800 a month on groceries  down to $200.00 a month (since January).


    * $89.00 a mo. for cable to $45.00 a month


    * $55.00 a month for our house phone to $21.00 a month with a calling card for long distance. We use our cell phones to make long distance calls on the weekend to family members or before 7 in the mornings. We dropped call waiting, call forwarding and unlimited long distance.


    * $60.00 a mo. cell phones (for each of us) to $49.00 a month each.


    * Eating dinner out 2-3 times a week to eating out 1-2 times a month.


    *Going to the movies (husband’s enjoyment) 1-2 times a month to maybe once every 3 months (if even that!).


     * My electric bill has dropped but I haven’t actually figured out how much because it varies each month.


    * We’ve dropped 3 magazine subscriptions.


    *My husband rarely buys his lunch any longer but takes a sack lunch which saves us approx. $100.00 a month.


    Even with all these cuts we still do not make enough to pay our yearly property taxes. God graciously provided the money for our taxes through anonymous donations this past year but we can’t be presumptuous and expect others to continue paying our taxes. God has commanded us to work.. not to depend on others to take care of us when we’re able to do so ourselves.

    So, back in December, I was offered a few work projects through a friend which helped tremendously. It’s the first time I’ve worked outside my home in over 24 years. It wasn’t too much of a culture shock because I was working in her home and then babysitting her grandchildren. I only worked 2 1/2 days a week and took a month break over Christmas. The babysitting job was supposed to end in April. My husband and I talked it over and he felt that I needed to find something part time as long as we’re in this home. I put in an application at our local bible book store and I got the job. I’m working 3 days a week. It’s enough to cover our property taxes plus pay for our food bill. Thank you, Lord!


    My husband and I have struggled over the decision of whether I should leave my home and work part time. Even though my children are grown we still know the value of a woman being home. The amount of time I spend in the Word has suffered and I just don’t have the time to minister in my church the way my heart longs to. I do see this as being the best way I can be a helpmate to my husband at the present time and I know he appreciates it. But, hopefully, it’s only for a season. My husband says as soon as the house sells I’m coming back home.


    Lessons Learned!


    The Lord has/is teaching me several things through this whole experience.


    1. I’ve realized how foolishly we spent our money during our ‘feast’ years. Money that could have been invested in God’s kingdom with eternal rewards.


    2. I’ve realized that my trust and hope for our future was in what we owned and not in God’s provision.


    3. I’m continuing to learn His lessons of contentment even though our present situation is not to our liking.


    4. I’ve learned to trust Him to a greater degree as He has so wonderfully provided for our every NEED (and even many of our wants) over this past year.


    etc., etc., etc.  (the list goes on and on)


    I’m so thankful that our sins and mistakes are never wasted in God’s kingdom. He is truly our Redeemer! Not only in our salvation but in all things as He works them together for our good and His glory! Romans 8:28-29


    My faith rests in His promises knowing that He is using every bit of this trial to continue to conform my husband and I into the image of His dear Son.


    AMEN and AMEN!